The End of Term

This is a day I have been waiting for with giddy anticipation. For those of you who don’t know me, I work in the construction industry. Specifically in the estimating department of a construction company. We are responsible for compiling and submitting tenders that are advertised/we are invited to tender to, and also responsible for estimating the cost of proposed works.

We use our fair share of dark arts in the work we do. Our dark arts aren’t as dark as Professional Quantity Surveyors (PQS’s are different from QS’s who work for contractors). The job can be monotonous, the hours are painful and sometimes the weekends are non-existent.

It’s an interesting department of the company. I get to go to (un)exotic places for site visits, get to speed from HQ with tender documents to the other side of town when submissions are late, and worst of all I have to remain on call WAY more than I like.

Out of all of this, there is one thing I like about working in this industry.

Image
Month Long Holiday

This gives me great joy every year to know that for a month I get to wind down, switch off my daily 545am alarm, sleep in, spend days without combing my hair, bath only when I have to leave the house, reduce my daily drive of 50km to hopefully MUCH less.

This holiday is also fraught with danger. I could be broke in the first week just because of boredom. I have devised a few schemes to keep me hopefully occupied enough to not go on a spending spree.

Comics
Hopefully these graphic novels will keep me occupied
Image
My games should keep me occupied. Some have been lent out but will be back soon

If all else fails, I will resort to the one other thing that will keep me distracted, and at home especially at night…

Image
Golden Nectar and Mindless Violence

I will keep you informed of my mental state over the holiday period. I will also take lots and lots of random pictures just because I can.

To those still at work, the end is near!!!!!!

Till the next blog-isode!!

Author: ensigntongs

Husband, parent of two (dogs), music junkie, electro jiving, movie loving, needy beer liking, "alternative", fun loving, carefree, occasionally hangry, PS3 addict, funky house head bopping, willing zombie response team member, whiskey drinker, conspiracy theorist, android loving, Apple hating, Kenny Rogers respecting, life and fun loving member of planet earth!

Leave a Reply

