Learn Something New

So what started off as a potential rant about the fact that not 10% into his total sentence, Oscar Pistorious is going to be released under house arrest in August of this year. I still wonder if he is going to have a house arrest party. Seeing as he can’t leave he might as well invite his friends (if he has any) for a good old fashioned braai. I would suggest that none of his friends use the bathroom.

Anyway while I was preparing to rant about this I decided that I would do a brief research into Sharia Law and use it as a basis to how I felt about Oscars house arrest party. I ended up going down a rabbit hole that was a little deeper than I had anticipated.

Feel free to correct me where I am wrong, but basically Sharia Law is (mostly according to wikipedia) the Islamic legal system derived from the Quran and the Hadith (A collection of teachings, sayings and deeds from the Prophet Muhammad). So far so good. It gets a little more complicated because depending on which Islamic country or state it is, they have different but almost similar ways of dealing with administering their law. Some places are a little harsher than others. For example, some do not believe that the Quran states that stoning someone to death as a punishment is clearly stated in the Quran, whereas other do.

They do have one thing that I found to be quite fascinating. One of the ways that the law is meted out is through retribution (my choice of word. Thats not what its called but I am writing from memory and not copy and pasting from wiki). Basically what was done to you (if it was illegal that is) will be done to the perpetrator. So for example there was this woman who had acid put in her eyes and she went blind. When she was asked in the court what she wanted in return she requested that the person who had blinded her also have acid dropped in his eyes. She stopped them at the last second before they blinded the guy.

I mean wow! That’s frightening to be honest. Obviously then there is if you steal you lose a hand. The good old dismemberment. Funnily while I was reading there was something that said they sometimes will also take an opposite foot. So the left hand goes and right foot. That is extremely frightening. At least you know that there is very little theft that happens in those countries.

What was disappointing was the issue regarding extramarital sex and the establishing if a woman was raped. If a woman comes claiming she was raped, she has to come with four male eye witnesses to the incident. This makes it virtually impossible in some countries to establish rape (As I said, different countries and states adopt different “types” of Sharia Law). Whats worse is if she makes the claim (true of not) and doesn’t have sufficient evidence then she is the one who gets punished.

Muslim-War-on-Women

I hope this isn’t taken as me being anti-Islam or anything, but I don’t think I will be visiting any Islamic states coz this Sharia Law is some crazy ass shit. I didn’t understand all I read, but what I did, it’s clearly a very serious law. It is also quite old and as it’s tied to their religion we can’t tell them to keep up with the times. In fact it’s even hard to try and judge it, as it’s their law. It’s ok to judge the system we have accepted with impunity, but harder to judge someone else’s.

The sad thing is we are human so we will judge it anyway

Author: ensigntongs

Husband, parent of two (dogs), music junkie, electro jiving, movie loving, needy beer liking, "alternative", fun loving, carefree, occasionally hangry, PS3 addict, funky house head bopping, willing zombie response team member, whiskey drinker, conspiracy theorist, android loving, Apple hating, Kenny Rogers respecting, life and fun loving member of planet earth!

Leave a Reply

