The Girlfriend Experience *SPOILER ALERT*

maxresdefault

Well, I got home from a short week at work and happened upon my wife watching this TV show. I am finding it quite hard to properly express how it made me feel but I am going to give it a go.

Basically, the show is about a female law student who is doing an internship at some law firm and she is a prostitute or high-class call girl (I don’t see the difference between the two….). The story follows how she fantastically fails to balance these two careers.

So I only managed to catch the second half of the first season (and I am pretty much glad I didn’t watch the first half of the season. The main characters fall from grace is inevitable as I feel like the writers wrote themselves into a nice little corner, but I will get into that later). By the time I started she had been left $500,000 by a now dead client (not from her job as an intern, but from her prostituting), she had a stalker (possibly from her prostituting), she was being blackmailed (to give up the $500k she was left from her prostituting or she would be exposed as being a prostitute) and she had slept with one of her bosses.

It was at this point that I felt that the show really lost the plot. They tried to make her job as an intern interesting and add some dynamics to her life – a “friend” from the office, a cool boss (not the one she slept with, another one), and some really beautiful interior designing for her apartment and also her office space that distracted from the many things the show was lacking.

She eventually gets fired from her work when she is exposed as a prostitute. She, in the process, takes down the boss who she slept with. It was at this point where they should have brought the show to an end. The writers (in my expert opinion as someone who has NEVER written a TV show in my LIFE) reduced the number of story arcs that could be explored by firing her from her job as an intern.

The reason why I am of this opinion is that once she lost her job as an intern, the only thing they could write about is her having sex for money. They had the potential to push a few story arcs, but one of the guys turns into someone she has internet sex with a few times, and the other guy is too wasted for there to be a viable story to write about him.

The show has one recognizable face (or one face I recognized), which is Chloe O’Brian from 24. She is floating around in the show. The rest of the cast felt as forgettable as the story they were trying to do.

erin

Unfortunately, the show felt as though it was a vague challenge to Suits (which I thought was also absolutely ridiculous… and I only managed to watch the first season then I had to stop…). This to me felt like they wanted to portray the main lady as a strong, independent and decisive woman. Instead I found that she struggled making decisions, she wanted to bake her cake, watch it rise in the oven, take it out, smell it, eat it and sell it all at the same time; furthermore she could not be trusted (there are a few times that it feels like she’s trying REALLY hard to manipulate people by recording conversation. NOT. COOL).

All in all, it was a great bit of background TV. I hope that they DO NOT do another season of the show. Even if they do, it’s not like I would watch it. I would much rather spend my time looking for comics to download and read… or sleep.

Final Verdict: There are more interesting was to spend 24 minutes (that’s the length of an episode)

Author: ensigntongs

Husband, parent of two (dogs), music junkie, electro jiving, movie loving, needy beer liking, "alternative", fun loving, carefree, occasionally hangry, PS3 addict, funky house head bopping, willing zombie response team member, whiskey drinker, conspiracy theorist, android loving, Apple hating, Kenny Rogers respecting, life and fun loving member of planet earth!

Leave a Reply

